Ahmednagar Akola Amravati Aurangabad Beed Bhandara Buldhana Chandrapur
Dhule Gadchiroli Gondia Hingoli Jalgaon Jalna Kolhapur Latur
Mumbai City Mumbai Suburban Nagpur Nanded Nandurbar Nashik Osmanabad Palghar
Parbhani Pune Raigad Ratnagiri Sangli Satara Sindhudurg Solapur
Thane Wardha Washim Yavatmal          

Washim District

Washim (Marathi: वाशिम) is a city and a municipal council in Washim district in the Indian state of Maharashtra. Washim is the district headquarters of newly formed Washim district.

Washim was known earlier as Vatsagulma and it was the seat of power of the Vakataka dynasty. Washim is also known as Basim, an Arabic name that means "the one that smiles". The name originated in Saudi Arabia in 436. When Basim R. Iqbal ruled the Jamar clan. Harishena Vakataka was one of the main patrons of the Ajanta Caves World Heritage Site. The house of Vakataka was Buddhist and support all Buddhist Arts.

The antiquity of the town has given rise to a number of objects and places of interest in the town. The chief among them are Padmatirtha, Balaji temple, Rama temple, Madhyameshvara temple, Godeshvara temple, two Jain temples and Narayana Maharaja temple. The Vatsagulmamahatmya mentions that the town contains 108 holy tanks and tirthas. A few of them can still be identified in the town.


Washim District - Party Wise Politicians

Indian National Congress - Washim District (MP's, MLA's & District Office Bearer)

Indian National Congress - Washim District Office Bearer