Ahmednagar Akola Amravati Aurangabad Beed Bhandara Buldhana Chandrapur
Dhule Gadchiroli Gondia Hingoli Jalgaon Jalna Kolhapur Latur
Mumbai City Mumbai Suburban Nagpur Nanded Nandurbar Nashik Osmanabad Palghar
Parbhani Pune Raigad Ratnagiri Sangli Satara Sindhudurg Solapur
Thane Wardha Washim Yavatmal          
Drop Down Menu

Mumbai City & Mumbai Suburban

Mumbai (मुंबई), formerly known as Bombay is the capital of the Indian state of Maharashtra. It is the most populous city in India, and the second most populous city in the world, with a population of approximately 14 million. Briefing the historical significance of Mumbai it is known that the name "Mumbai" is derived from Mumba or Maha Amba - the name of Koli goddess Mumbadevi. In 1661, King Charles II received 'Bombay' as dowry which was later undertaken by East India Company in 1668.

Mumbai is segmented into two district regions - Mumbai Suburban district and Mumbai city district. The entire Suburban area comes under Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) and remaining areas are take care by Defence, Mumbai Port Trust, Atomic Energy Commission and Borivali National Park.

    Districts :
  • South Mumbai - (Fort, Colaba, Malabar Hill, Nariman Point, Marine Lines, Tardeo)
  • South Central Mumbai - (Byculla, Parel, Worli, Prabhadevi, Dadar)
  • North Central Mumbai - (Dharavi, Matunga, Vadala, Sion, Mahim)
  • West Mumbai - (Bandra, Khar, Santa Cruz, Juhu, Vile Parle, Andheri,Versova)
  • East Mumbai - (Kurla, Vidyavihar, Ghatkopar, Vikhroli, Kanjur Marg, Bhandup, Mulund, Powai,Thane)
  • Harbour Suburbs - (Chembur, Mankhurd, Govandi, Trombay)
  • North Mumbai - (Manori, Jogeshwari, Malad, Borivali, Gorai, Mira Road, Bhyander, Naigaon, Vasai, Nala Sopara, Virar)

Mumbai is built on what was once an archipelago of seven islands: Bombay Island, Parel, Mazagaon, Mahim, Colaba, Worli, and Old Woman's Island (also known as Little Colaba).

Mumbai has been a traditional stronghold and birthplace of the Indian National Congress, also known as the Congress Party. The first session of the Indian National Congress was held in Bombay from 28–31 December 1885. The city played host to the Indian National Congress six times during its first 50 years, and became a strong base for the Indian independence movement during the 20th century.

The 1960s saw the rise of regionalist politics in Bombay, with the formation of the Shiv Sena on 19 June 1966, out of a feeling of resentment about the relative marginalisation of the native Marathi people in Bombay. The party headed a campaign to expel South Indian and North Indian migrants by force. The Congress had dominated the politics of Bombay from independence until the early 1980s, when the Shiv Sena won the 1985 Bombay municipal corporation elections.

The Mumbai Suburban district (Marathi: मुंबई उपनगर जिल्हा) is a district of the state of Maharashtra in western India. Its headquarters is in Bandra (Marathi:Vandre). It consists of three administrative subdivisions or tehsils: Kurla, Andheri, and Borivali. The district along with Mumbai City district and other suburban communities make up the metropolis of Mumbai on Salsette Island. The district occupies an area of 369 km². This is the second smallest district of Maharashtra, administratively comes under Konkan Division. The jurisdiction of Mumbai Suburban District is from Bandra to Dahisar, from Kurla (Chuna Bhatti) to Mulund and from Kurla up to Trombay Creek.

Mumbai Suburban District is one of the largest districts in the country by population. Making it the fifth most populous district in India. The Mithi River is the main river in the district.

Many important places have adorned the beauty of this district, including Mount Mary Church, Jogeshwari Caves, Mahakali Caves, Essel World Water Kingdom, Sanjay Gandhi National Park, Aarey Colony, Kanheri Caves, Film City, Tulsi Lake, Vihar Lake and Powai Lake.


मुंबई शहर व मुंबई उपनगर पक्षानुसार राजकीय पदाधिकारी

भारतीय जनता पक्ष
शेतकरी कामगार पक्ष
राष्ट्रवादी कॉंग्रेस पक्ष
महाराष्ट्र नवनिर्माण सेना
रिपब्लिकन पार्टी ऑफ इंडिया (ए)
समाजवादी पार्टी